Lamps made in Marseille

Lighting fixtures made in Marseille

We've been tinkering for a long time, we have fun diverting objects to make our own lighting fixtures. Sieves for hanging lights, jam jars for wall lights, driftwood and pebbles for table lamps.

We like and enjoy all this, of course, but is it very original? Let's face it, all this is not very new!

Finding our own identity

We quickly realised that the creators of all kinds of lighting fixtures did not wait for us. All our sketches come up against the same conclusion: "Déjà vu, déjà fait! ». Of course, we do not claim to revolutionize the world of lighting, but we want a design that looks like us. At the same time modern and warm, contemporary of course, but without cutting us off from our history, our memories. Sketch after sketch, idea after idea, our horizon is becoming clearer... The choice of materials first. Plexiglas for its transparency, its modernity and wood of course, for its warmth and authenticity. A stroll through the 30's and its Decorative Arts and there we have our inspiration. The rest is quickly out of our imagination and with 4 hands we are building the outlines of our first range of lighting fixtures.

From sketch to completion

Now we need to materialise these ideas. On paper, all this is beautiful but not necessarily easy to implement with the means at our disposal. For the structure no problem. We will use the tools made available to us by Make it Marseille and in particular the laser cutting machine. Thanks to this we obtain a perfectly finished and adjusted framework for our lamps.

For the covering, it gets more complicated. Flat panels will have to be transformed and given perfect curves so that they fit precisely and elegantly into the structures. This step was the most delicate. We started our work over and over again. Adjusting, inventing, correcting and after dozens of prototypes we finally perfected the tools and the manufacturing process. We won't tell you more because we also have our little secrets... Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator (free version)

And the light was

For the electrical part, here again we have to be persistent in finding a supplier that meets our requirements:

  • Quality products certified to European standards.
  • Manufacturing as close as possible to our workshop in Marseille.

In the end it is not in Marseille that we find our gem, but not so far away. At our neighbours, just across the Alps, near Turin in Italy. Quality products made in Italy in accordance with European standards.

This time we've got our range of lights! Quickly we are declining it in pendant lamps, wall lamps and table lamps. Although satisfied, we still lack something... We decide to add the Wenge finish, which will perfectly complete the range with the already existing Oak.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

en_GBEnglish (UK)
%d bloggers like this:

Luminaires made in Marseille

Des luminaires made in Marseille

Cela fait longtemps que nous bricolons, nous amusons à détourner des objets pour réaliser nos propres luminaires. Des passoires en guise de suspensions, des pots de confiture pour des appliques murales, du bois flotté et des galets pour des lampes à poser.

Tous cela nous plait et nous amuse bien sûr, mais est-ce très original ? Il faut se rendre à l’évidence,tout ça n’est pas très nouveau !

Trouver notre propre identité

Rapidement nous réalisons que les créateurs de luminaires en tout genre ne nous ont pas attendus. Tous nos croquis viennent se heurter à la même conclusion : « Déjà vu, déjà fait ! ». Évidemment, nous n’avons pas la prétention de révolutionner le monde du luminaire, mais souhaitons un design qui nous ressemble. A la fois moderne et chaleureux, contemporain certes mais qui ne nous coupe pas de notre histoire, nos souvenirs. Croquis après croquis, idée après idée, notre horizon s’éclaircit… Le choix des matériaux d’abord. Le plexiglas pour sa transparence, sa modernité et le bois bien sûr, pour sa chaleur son authenticité. Une ballade dans les années 30 et ses Arts Décoratifs et voilà nous la tenons notre inspiration. Le reste sort rapidement de notre imagination et à 4 mains nous échafaudons les contours de notre première gamme de luminaires.

De l’esquisse à la réalisation

Maintenant il nous faut matérialiser ces idées. Sur le papier tout cela est magnifique mais pas forcément facile à mettre en œuvre avec les moyens dont nous disposons. Pour la structure pas de problème. Nous utiliserons les outils mis à notre disposition par Make it Marseille et notamment la découpeuse laser. Grace à celle ci nous obtenons une ossature parfaitement finie et ajustée pour nos lampes.

Pour l’habillage, cela se complique. Il va falloir transformer des bandeaux plans et leurs donner des courbes parfaites pour qu’ils s’ajustent avec précision et élégance sur les structures. Cette étape fut la plus délicate. Inlassablement nous avons recommencé notre ouvrage. Ajuster, inventer, corriger et après des dizaines de prototypes nous avons enfin mis au point les outillages et le processus de fabrication. Nous ne vous en dirons pas plus car nous avons aussi nos petits secrets…

Et la lumière fût

Pour la partie électrique, là encore il nous faut faire preuve de pugnacité pour trouver un fournisseur qui corresponde à nos exigences :

  • Des produits de qualités certifiés aux normes européennes.
  • Une fabrication la plus proche possible de notre atelier à Marseille.

Finalement ce n’est pas à Marseille que nous trouvons notre perle rare, mais pas si loin. Chez nos voisins, juste de l’autre côté des Alpes, à proximité de Turin en Italie. Des produits de qualité made in Italie fabriqués en conformité avec les normes européennes.

Cette fois nous tenons notre gamme de luminaires ! Rapidement nous la déclinons en suspensions, appliques murales et lampes à poser. Bien que satisfaits, il nous manque encore quelque chose… Nous décidons d’ajouter la finition Wenge, ce qui complétera parfaitement la gamme avec le Chêne déjà existant.

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

%d blogueurs aiment cette page :