In the beginning...

In the beginning there is a meeting and quickly a desire to share, to create together... A life, travels, a home, projects...

After the completion and success of the renovation of our beautiful house, we still had the desire and probably the need to create and build together.

A simple idea

And then there was an idea, a desire, simply to give meaning to the gifts we would give to our loved ones for Christmas.

Here we are launched into the creation of small decorative objects. A few weeks later our creations are under the tree. Enchanted by this new experience with 4 hands we begin to nourish a new adventure... We start to create our own brand.

Effervescence

It's an exciting time, the Pandora's box of creation is open, ideas fuse, concepts twirl around. Our imagination has no limits, our sketchbook is soon full of ideas, each one crazier and more attractive than the last.

But we must rest our feet on the ground, we don't have the firepower of a multinational and we must concentrate on our primary ambition, that of creating and manufacturing in France objects that resemble us, that reflect us, our history.

Sorting

The time has come to sort out all these ideas, to refocus on our respective desires and know-how. To take stock of the means and tools we have and could have at our disposal. We have decided to embark on an initial range of 100% linen cushions with the ambition to create and produce our own screen prints. To this we will add a range of luminaries whose first sketches seem to us promising and feasible. On the same basis, we will be offering hanging lamps, wall lights and table lamps.

Within a few weeks we equip ourselves and develop our first screen prints. We become members of Make it MarseilleA coworking area in Marseilles, which will provide us with the space and tools needed to make the first prototypes of lighting fixtures.

Matelot Vert

At the same time we have to formalise this adventure, find a name, a logo. Something that makes sense, that fits with our history. We then dig into our memories and quickly come up with a multitude of nicknames that her father used to give her when she was a child.

Amongst these nicknames "Matelot Vert" (green sailor) amuses us, challenges us and little by little interferes in our history and ends up imposing itself on us. Searching for brands, domain names, etc... The way is clear, it is decided Matelot vert will accompany us in this beautiful adventure...

 

One thought on “Au commencement…

  1. Estelle-Anne Spicq says:

    We received our three Ouessant wenge wall lights today. They are beautiful, just like in the photo. The materials are of high quality. Ordering, delivery and effective communication even though we live abroad. The production of our third wall light was very fast. We are extremely satisfied with our purchase. Green Sailor's hat for your beautiful products and your professionalism! Thank you very much!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

en_GBEnglish (UK)
%d bloggers like this:

Au commencement…

Au commencement il y a une rencontre et rapidement une envie de partager, de créer ensemble… Une vie, des voyages, un foyer, des projets…

Après l’aboutissement et la réussite de la rénovation de notre belle maison, nous avions encore l’envie et probablement le besoin de créer et de construire ensemble.

Une idée simple

Et puis il y a eu une idée, une envie, simplement donner un sens aux cadeaux que nous offririons à nos proches pour les fêtes de noël.

Nous voilà lancé dans la création de petits objets de décoration. Quelques semaines plus tard nos créations sont sous le sapin. Enchantés par cette nouvelle expérience à 4 mains nous commençons à nourrir une nouvelle aventure… Nous lancer dans la création de notre propre marque.

Effervescence

C’est l’effervescence, la boite de pandore de la création est ouverte les idées fusent, les concepts virevoltent. Notre imagination n’a pas de limite, notre carnet de croquis est bientôt plein d’idées plus folles et attrayantes les unes que les autres.

Mais il nous faut reposer les pieds sur terre, nous n’avons pas la puissance de feu d’une multinationale et nous devons nous concentrer sur notre ambition première, celle de créer et fabriquer en France des objets qui nous ressemblent, qui soient le reflet de nous, de notre histoire.

Faire du tri

L’heure est alors venue de faire le tri parmi toutes ces idées, de nous recentrer sur nos envies, nos savoir-faire respectifs. Faire le bilan des moyens et outils dont nous disposons et dont nous pourrions disposer. C’est décidé nous nous lançons sur une première gamme de coussin 100% lin avec l’ambition de créer et réaliser nos propres sérigraphies. A cela nous ajouterons une gamme de luminaires dont les premiers croquis nous semblent prometteurs et réalisables. Sur une même base nous déclinerons des suspensions, des appliques murales et des lampes à poser.

En quelques semaines nous nous équipons et mettons au point nos premières sérigraphies. Nous devenons adhèrents de Make it Marseille, un espace de coworking Marseillais, qui nous fournira l’espace et les outils nécessaires à la réalison des premiers prototypes de luminaires.

Matelot Vert

Dans le même temps nous devons formaliser cette aventure, trouver un nom, un logo. Quelque chose qui ai du sens, qui colle à notre histoire. Nous fouillons alors dans nos souvenir et rapidement de l’enfance de Anne, surgissent une multitude de surnoms que son père avait l’habitude de lui donner lorsqu’elle était enfant.

Parmi ces sobriquets « matelot vert » nous amuse, nous interpelle et petit à petit s’immisce dans notre histoire et fini par s’imposer à nous. Recherche de marques, de nom de domaines, etc… La voie est libre, c’est décidé Matelot vert nous accompagnera dans cette belle aventure…

 

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

%d blogueurs aiment cette page :